Skip to main content

DCPMM and DRAM DIMM installation rules

For Intel Optane DC Persistent Memory (DCPMM), the following memory modes are available:
  • Before installing DCPMMs and DRAM DIMMs, refer to DC Persistent Memory Module (DCPMM) setup and make sure to meet all the requirements.

  • To verify if the presently installed processors support DCPMMs, examine the four digits in the processor description. Only processors with description meeting both of the following requirements support DCPMMs.

    • The first digit is 5 or a larger number.

      The only exception to this rule is Intel Xeon Silver 4215, which also supports DCPMM.
    • The second digit is 2.

    Example: Intel Xeon 5215L and Intel Xeon Platinum 8280M

    If the presently installed processors do not support DCPMMs, replace them with the processors that support DCPMMs.

  • Supported memory capacity range varies with the following types of processors:
    • Large memory tier (L): The processors with L after the four digits (for example: Intel Xeon 5215L)

    • Medium memory tier (M): The processors with M after the four digits (for example: Intel Xeon Platinum 8280M)

    • Other: Other processors that support DCPMMs (for example: Intel Xeon Gold 5222)

In addition, you can take advantage of a memory configurator, which is available at the following site:

Lenovo Enterprise Solutions Configurator