Skip to main content

DCPMM installation order

The server also supports Intel Optane DC persistent memory modules (DCPMMs). Use this information to determine the correct installation order, depending on the configuration.

  • Before installing DCPMMs and DRAM DIMMs, refer to DC Persistent Memory Module (DCPMM) setup and make sure to meet all the requirements.

  • To verify if the presently installed processors support DCPMMs, examine the four digits in the processor description. Only the processor with description meeting both of the following requirements support DCPMMs.

    • The first digit is 5 or a larger number.

      The only exception to this rule is Intel Xeon Silver 4215, which also supports DCPMM.
    • The second digit is 2.

    Example: Intel Xeon 5215L and Intel Xeon Platinum 8280M

    If the presently installed processors do not support DCPMMs, replace them with the processors that support DCPMMs.

  • Supported memory capacity range varies with the following types of processors.
    • Large memory tier (L): The processors with L after the four digits (for example: Intel Xeon 5215L)

    • Medium memory tier (M): The processors with M after the four digits (for example: Intel Xeon Platinum 8280M)

    • Other: Other processors that support DCPMMs (for example: Intel Xeon Gold 5222)

In addition, you can take advantage of a memory configurator, which is available at the following site:

Lenovo Enterprise Solutions Configurator