Skip to main content

Memory module installation rules and orders

Memory modules must be installed in a specific order based on the memory configuration of the server.

The following illustration shows the location of the memory module slots on the system board.
Figure 1. Memory module slots on the system board
Memory module slots on the system board

This server comes with four memory module slots.

For a list of supported memory module options, see: Lenovo ServerProven website

Before installing a memory module, ensure that all memory modules to be installed must be the same type. This server supports the following type of memory modules:
  • Industry-standard double-data-rate 4 (DDR4) UDIMM with 3200MHz error-correcting code (ECC) technology

Your server supports the Independent mode.

Independent mode

Independent mode provides high performance memory capability. You can populate all channels with no matching requirements. Individual channels can run at different DIMM timings, but all channels must run at the same interface frequency.

The following table shows the memory module installation order.

Table 1. Memory module installation order
Number of Memory ModulesMemory Module Slot Number
1  X 
2X X